Farewell for now!

JenTransitionAs I transition out of my role as MPM’s Director of Training and Quality Assurance, I have found myself reflecting upon how my time here has been a valuable learning opportunity. Working with such a smart and dedicated group of individuals who take their work and the support of mentoring programs seriously has created in me a deep desire to continue supporting mentoring in the future.

I have loved the chance to hear from program staff about the triumphs and challenges of their work – to listen to stories of friendships between young people and adults giving kids the extra support they need to be empowered, to dream big for their futures, and to gain hope and confidence that they are worthy of love.

One of the best learning opportunities I had in my time at MPM was as a participant in the NorthStar Youth Worker Fellowship. As part of my fellowship, I investigated the impact of race and privilege in mentoring relationships, which illuminated a strong desire in me further study of this topic at the graduate school level.  Although I am leaving my role as Director of Training and Quality Assurance, I know I will stay connected to MPM’s great and to the amazing youth development work taking place in this region.  I am already conjuring up ways to stay in the loop in the midst of the transition!

Before I depart at the end of December, I would enjoy hearing from as many of you as possible. I look forward to staying connected to our continued effort to support kids in mentoring relationships! Keep up the great work!

About Jen Lindwall

Jen Lindwall recently joined the MPM staff as the Director of Training and Quality Assurance. In this role, she has the opportunity to facilitate trainings for mentoring program staff and participants and work with programs to celebrate and improve the quality of their work. Previously, she worked in a faith community called Church of the Open Door overseeing the Service Learning Department. During her time there she collaborated with a team to create and implement a mentoring program for over 200 youth in the community. This program grew to include over 500 adult volunteers doing everything from mentoring students to facilitating service learning experiences for participants to providing one on one coaching to mentors. She graduated from Northwestern College where she studied cross-cultural communication in ministry and served as a mentor with a program that focuses on college students’ vocational decision process. She lives in North Minneapolis with her husband and two children.
This entry was posted in Mentoring Partnership of Minnesota and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.